Outstanding Research Publication Award

The AAMFT Research & Education Foundation confers awards to recognize a published article, monograph, book chapter or book that represents an outstanding scholarly achievement in family therapy research.  The award consists of a plaque, up to $500 travel reimbursement per recipient for  the AAMFT Annual Conference, and a conference fee waiver.

How to apply:  In order to quality for this award, interested candidates must complete an online application.  

Note: The AAMFT Annual Conference registration fee will be waived for all award recipients. In order to avoid the perception of a conflict of interest, anyone who is on the AAMFT or divisional payroll is ineligible to be considered for an award so long as that financial relationship exists.  All award recipients must be members of AAMFT with the exception of those receiving the Excellence in Media award, and at least one author of the Outstanding Research Publication award must be a member.

2017 Recipients

Ruben Parra-Cardona
Andrea Wittenborn


Past Recipients of the Outstanding Research Publication Award

  • William R. Shadish (1996)
  • Kevin Ragsdale (1996)
  • Renita Glaser (1996)
  • Linda Montgomery (1996)
  • David Miklowitz (1998)
  • Mark Butler (1999)
  • Karen Wampler (1999)
  • Robert B. Hampson (2000)
  • Robert Beavers (2000)
  • Catherine Prince (2000)
  • J. Douglas Coatsworth (2003)
  • Hilda Pantin (2003)
  • Jose Szapocznik (2003)
  • Laura D. Hanish (2003)
  • Mary M. McKay (2003)
  • Mitchell H. Dickey (2003)